Radio 55, side B, track 4: “Bad” by Michael Jackson, #19 on The Top 90 of the ’80s


Mixed Tape Masterpiece

Michael Jackson - BadOh, Michael Jackson, this was one of the first songs I every recorded off the radio, so obviously it’s got a special place in my heart, especially since the first time I recorded it I ran out of tape.  It’s also bittersweet, because I think this is the last of your songs I recorded off the radio during my youth.  I didn’t realize it at the time, or I probably would have accorded it more significance.  At the time, though, I was probably just shocked that this one, like so many of your other songs that had made the countdown, was not actually the #1 song of the decade.

One of the many lessons I have learned since starting this blog is that you were a ridiculously amazing performer who I spent too many years just focusing on the ridiculous part.  Controversy aside, weird shenanigans aside, anyone who…

View original post 943 more words

Leave a Reply

