Living in Mumbai: A retrospective


Accion Ambassadors Blog

photo 7

Wow – By the time this post goes up on the blog, I will be back in the United States. Since this is my last blog post (for now – starting this fall, I’ll be writing for Professor Matthew Stephenson’s Global Anti-Corruption Blog), I probably ought to use it to tie together the many lessons and themes from my time at Swadhaar. But first, a story:

On my second trip to India, I was four (and a half) years old. My parents took my sister and I to Bangalore for my uncle’s wedding. I remember hating my malaria pills, drinking lots of soda, and sitting in air-conditioned rooms whenever possible. At the wedding ceremony, my mom and dad were very busy, especially since my dad is the oldest son of the family. They entrusted some poor soul with the task of entertaining their lovely, non-Tamil speaking daughter (me).

View original post 859 more words

Leave a Reply

