Volunteer work and why it’s an amazing place to start


One more page

Considering this is my first truly travel related post I thought it would be poetic to write about my first solo travel experience; volunteering. Since before I’d even finished school I knew taking a Gap year to volunteer overseas was what I wanted to do. It was work, travel and study combined, which is exactly what I wanted from my Gap year. I have been obsessed with animals since childhood and always wanted to volunteer with them, so I decided an animal welfare organisation was for me. After talking to a travel agent and finding their opinion on what was appropriate for a first time traveler and volunteer, I found myself flying to Thailand to the Wildlife Friends Foundation. This began me on my path to overseas travel, and taught me more about the world and myself than I could possibly imagine.

Here are eight reasons why I believe that…

View original post 905 more words

Leave a Reply

