China: The Plight of the Moon Bears


DistractedFlick

15

After a month in Vietnam, I headed to China. I was based about an hour outside of Xi’An for three weeks volunteering at a rescue centre, where I’d specifically signed up to the Giant Panda program. I’d been interested in this particular conservation work for a few years but as it’s all based in China, I hadn’t had enough free time to go and travel afterwards.

Once I got there, however, it wasn’t necessarily what I expected.

On first arrival to the centre, Jon and I walked around the facilities. To say we were a bit underwhelmed would be an understatement. I’m not saying that we were expecting anything new or modern, but, the best way to describe our initial reaction is this: ‘imagine you visit a theme park that isn’t used every often anymore, it’s kind of run down and generally feels a little unloved, although you can tell…

View original post 1,329 more words

Leave a Reply

